Skip to content

Working on My Identity Problem

July 8, 2009

 I found a hot song by LeCrae that has been encouraging me in my recovery this week.  Here’s the chorus:
 
41RGYS4rYSL__SS500_.jpg image by blaqDanger(Chorus)
 I’m not the shoes I wear. I’m not the clothes I buy/
I’m not the house I live in/ I’m not the car I drive/
I’m not the job I work /You can’t define my worth/
By nothing on God’s green earth, my identity is found in Christ

“Identity” from the CD Rebel by Christian Hip Hop Artist LeCrae

 

My addiction messed up my thinking when it came to my identity.  Identity is essentially:  “Who am I?”  What is it that defines your worth?  Who are you at the core of your being?

Sometimes my identity seems very material…
I am the clothes I wear. 
I am the people I hang around with. 
I am the clubs I’m a part of. 
I am the job I have.   

Sometimes is is very self-condemning…
I’m no good.
I’m worthless.  I’m not valuable. 
I’m not popular.  Nobody likes me.
I’m hopeless.
I’m not lovable.
I’m not creative, funny or likeable.
 

Sometimes I labeled myself like this …
I’m a sinner. 
I’m a fallen minister.
I’m a statistic. 
I’m an addict

TRUE IDENTITY IS FOUND IN CHRIST
My true identity is found in Christ.  Ever since I was 11 years old, Christ has been my Savior.  But I have not always understood WHO I was.

I am His child. I am made right by the cross.  I am a new person.   I’m valuable and important. 

My addiction made me really confused and disoriented about my true identity.  I am starting to believe again that Christ is my identity. 


Click HERE to see the video on YouTube :
CHECK OUT LACRAE’S SONG

You can get the song and LaCrae’s album Rebel on I-Tunes as well.

Comments are closed.

