Skip to content

Strength and Encouragement From Psalm 144

October 12, 2009

biblePsalm 144

1 Praise be to the LORD my Rock,
who trains my hands for war,
my fingers for battle.

2 He is my loving God and my fortress,
my stronghold and my deliverer,
my shield, in whom I take refuge,
who subdues peoples under me.

 

I am reminded today of the battle I am engaged in to stay sexually pure. I must remember to stay focused and stay on guard. I also remember:

 

The Battle is God’s to Fight – Staying sexually pure is not possible without the power of God. I fail when I attempt it on my own strength. I must surrender to His command and let Him fight my battles.

God Trains Me and Prepares Me – God will teach me how to be successful at purity. He often uses mentors, friends, accountability partners, counselors, support groups, and books to help with the training.

God’s Love Overshadows This Process – I have to remember that God loves me, no matter what. When I am good. When I am failing. When I am clicking off good days. When I am relapsing. God loves me. He is my loving God.

I Need to Hang Out With God – He’s strong. Look at the words: fortress, stronghold, deliverer, shield, refuge. If I stay close to Him, I’m good. I may not be strong, but He is super strong, and can help me to stand.

Comments are closed.

