Skip to content

Advice For the Struggling

October 16, 2009

shame

 

I’ve had a string of really difficult days at my work lately. I have a lot of fears and worries about the future of my job. I wanted to share with you some of the things that have been helpful for me to get through this very challenging time.

I have shared my struggles with several close friends, who have give me some good advice. Perhaps the advice that I am getting can be an encouragement to you in your struggles.

 

TRAVIS’ THOUGHTS
“You have to get to the point where you completely give this situation over to God.”

This is surrender. It’s letting God take the reigns. Let Him take control of a situation that I cannot control.

 

JERRY’S ADVICE
“This situation is not nearly as bad as the hurt you were feeling when you lost your job, ministry, and friends.”

I lost my job because of my Internet behaviors and had to leave. This was the deepest hurt of my life so far. Jerry’s right. This does not even compare to that. God got me through it then; He will get me through the struggle today. Struggles may overwhelm me, but they are not too big for God. The could be much, much worse.

 

TIM’S COUNSEL

  1. Rest in the Lord
  2. Be thankful
  3. Worship Him

I like this a lot. I have been so focused on my present situation that I haven’t let God share the burden with me. Rest in the Lord.

Matthew 11:28 “Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

Thankfulness and worship helps me rise above it.

 

GORDON’S ADVICE
“God knows your address.”

God knows where I am. At any time He can change things, present a new opportunity, close doors, or open doors. I am learning to trust Him with my job, my future, my needs.

 

NOT ACTING OUT
It wasn’t long ago that I would act out sexually when the stresses got large. The wonderful thing during this period of stress is that God is helping me have healthy avenues of working through stress. God has helped me to heal a lot on the inside. But talking to other people about my struggles, getting advice, and receiving prayer support are extremely helpful.

Comments are closed.

