Skip to content

Own Up to Your Sin

February 9, 2010

I went to my psychiatrist to be psychoanalyzed
To find out why I killed the cat and blacked my husband’s eye.
He laid me on a downy couch to see what he could find,
And here’s what he dredged up, from my subconscious mind.
When I was one, my mummy hid my dolly in a trunk
And so it follows, naturally, that I am always drunk.
When I was two, I saw my father kiss the maid one day,
And that is why I suffer from kleptomania.
At three I had a feeling of ambivalence towards my brothers.
And so it follows naturally I poisoned all my lovers.
But I am happy now I have learned the lessons this has taught:
Everything I do that’s wrong, is someone else’s fault!

 Anna Russell’s “Psychiatric Folk Song”

 

 I ran across this gem recently.  Isn’t it interesting how we always make excuses for our sins?  We are great at blaming others and shifting the blame.  We are great at never taking responsibility for our own sins. 

 We must be careful in our sexual recovery and quest for sexual purity that we: 

  1. Embrace truth.
  2. Call sin what it is.
  3. Own up to our faults and the hurt we have caused others. 
2 Comments
  1. February 9, 2010 9:36 am

    Great poem!

  2. JeffTN62 permalink
    February 9, 2010 6:48 pm

    We can only be healed to the degree we let our secrets out in the open and deal with them… I recommend some let them out sooner rather than later!!!

Comments are closed.

