Skip to content

Fire Drills From Wichita, Kansas

April 12, 2010

I had a comment from the creator of Victory is Possible .   It’s a new blog with simple short tips for sexual purity.  Several of the blogs he has written are called “Fire Drills”. 

Here’s one a short one from April 3rd where he uses the acronym LOATH to help us who objectify others:  

Look Only At The Head.

Really simple. Decide now to loath the person that gives is a temptation.

Look Only At The Head.

Good stuff! 

If you are in Wichita, Kansas and struggling with sexual addiction, this looks like a good place to connect. 

2 Comments
  1. Blake permalink
    April 12, 2010 3:22 pm

    Thing about addiction is that you’re just one simple step away from being back into the problem. I’m every day just one beer away from being drunk all the time. ( I tested the theory) It doesn’t come back little like in the beginning, it comes back full strength like you never quit or even worse like as if you kept progressing the whole time. Then God has to move heaven and earth to break your bonds again, which he will, but you sure don’t want that to have to happen. Or maybe you get to the point where you lose your family, kids, house, alimony, maybe job. One guy died of sexual impurity at my church. But alas, I know people don’t listen to advice. They have to get hit on the head like I did. I wish I could transfer my experience to you so it wouldn’t cost you so much.

    • April 12, 2010 6:54 pm

      Hey Blake,

      Thanks so much for your comment. You bring up some interesting points about addiction:

      “you one step away from being back into the problem”
      I agree with this. It only takes one step in the wrong direction to cave in sexually.
      The difference though, is that if our addiction focus is only behavioral, we’re going to have these type of problems.

      Sexual addiction goes deeper than behaviors. We have been created with physical, emotional, relational, sexual components, and all of these components have to part of our recovery process.

      The guys I know that are doing well in recovery may have slips, but they are as devastating as they used to. They feel bad, but they deal with them in the right way by checking them in, uping their accountability and leaning on others for support.

      “maybe you get to the point where you lose…”
      Unfortunately, many of us have to lose things that are important to us before we get serious about recovery. For some, it is really painful. We have to have a brokenness. We have to learn to hate our sin and do what it takes to fix it.

      I lost my job and my ministry. That’s what God used to get my attention and it was the best thing that ever happened. I was so deep in bondage to my sexual sin I didn’t even know how bad it was.

      Keep the comments coming!

Comments are closed.

